Something’s Been Bothering Me

I recently read a blog post about how bloggers can share too much about his or her personal life.  It really upset me and caused me pause.  Am I sharing too much?  I am using this blog as a way to put the pieces back together since I had my break and was diagnosed.  It feels good to write about such things and I have received very supportive feedback on all of my posts – so thank you for that.  However, this blogger said we needed to cover ourselves up and that it was simply attention seeking to share such personal situations on one’s blog.

What do you think is too much to share?  I’m having a bit of a problem with this bloggers declaration that some things are best kept private.  I don’t have a huge list of followers, so I am not exposing my truths to many people.  I am basically writing for me, in a public format.  I change people’s names and try not to reveal the nitty, gritty details about certain situations because those things are best kept to myself and those involved.  But, this blogging experience has been very cathartic for me with all the support I have been getting.  I don’t feel like I need to cover up and hide behind something that is so often hushed up anyway.

I’m trying to play my part in breaking the stigma of mental illness.  My experiences are just that, mine.  If they provide comfort to someone else who may be suffering or know someone who does, then great!  If my experiences help make someone think differently about struggling with mental illness, great!  I am only one person and I’m only sharing my truth.  Isn’t that really what we all are doing as bloggers?  Telling our own story through our own interpretations?

I don’t know why this post got to me.  Maybe because I was questioning whether or not I should have shared what I shared about my husband and myself and our struggles with this condition.  It felt very private, but I’m glad I shared.  So, perhaps I need to tuck in my skirts, but I’m not going to.  I don’t think it is honest or fair to sugar coat this very serious topic.

I’m not going to always write about the dark and heavy, as evidenced with yesterday’s post, but I’m going to speak my truth, and I think others should speak their truths as well.  Be as honest as possible, because I think readers are able to decipher if you are glossing over the meaty details.  And, why would you want to lie about your own truths?

I’m not a person to wax poetic about inspiration and positivity.  Those things are nice, but I find them redundant and boring.  Everyone has a positivity blog.  Sometimes things aren’t positive.  Sometimes they downright suck.  It’s okay to say things suck.  And, that is why I’m not going to hold back what I have to say.  I’m not writing for this one particular author, I am writing in an effort to be honest and true.  And sometimes it’s not pretty.

35 thoughts on “Something’s Been Bothering Me

  1. As long as YOU are happy with what you expose about yourself that’s all that matters. I for one think your honesty is firstly refreshing and secondlyvery helpful in, as you say, breaking the stigma of mental illness. And it’s slightly silly to say it’s attention seeking when you are writing anonymously! Keep going, you’re doing great!

  2. “Attention seeking’ is not something I think of when I read your blog. If someone else thinks it is, so what? Attention seeking is only bad if it is done in ways that are harmful. Blogging and any other form of publishing is attention seeking by nature. If we didn’t want attention (people reading it), why would we publish it? Besides, we all need attention, and seek to pay attention to others.

    My blog isn’t very personal, but sometimes it is.

    Blogging about your experiences not only helps you process and deal with those experiences, but it helps others going through similar experiences realize that they are not alone. I don’t follow many personal blogs, but your resonates. Keep doing what your doing because you are doing it well.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I am enjoying your blog as well. I agree with you that blogging in general is attention seeking by nature. This particular blogger just put a bee in my bonnet and I couldn’t not write about it. Perhaps that was what she was going for when she wrote that post in the first place?

  3. Hi. I’d like to say that the other post that you read sounds like the other blogger was having issues with another blogger’s boundaries. Nobody was making them read it and other people don’t set your boundaries. I can understand how this might get under the skin but I find it very liberating to read other people’s dark side (for want of a better word) and find the commonality in experience.
    You decide what you want to share.

    • That is a very good observation. I mentioned this topic to another friend and he said it sounded like they just had sour grapes. Each person is different and writes what they want to share. They shared their opinion, now I shared mine. I just didn’t want to start a war so I chose not to include a link to the original blog.

  4. You know what, no one has to read your blog if it makes them uncomfortable. This is yours to do what you want. If the people you mention in your blog are supportive and cool with it (you are protecting them anyway), then it isn’t anyone else’s business what you write or how you write. You aren’t spewing hate speech or slanderous statements about others. You are sharing your own truths, and bravely.

    • EXACTLY! We wouldn’t be blogging if we didn’t want someone to read what we have to say. I say, “BE BRAVE!” Go ahead and post something that might be out of your comfort zone, but don’t do anything that makes you feel entirely uncomfortable. Blogging really is quite therapeutic.

  5. If they allowed five stars, you’d get them. I wrote a personal piece about a stupid mistake I made. It was inspired by a post written by a woman who shared her mistake. I wouldn’t have written mine if she hadn’t written hers. Since then, I’ve considered removing my blog after the Blogging 101 class ends tomorrow because I think maybe it’s cost me some followers. But then I think if someone can learn from my mistake, why not share? If people want to judge me or are uncomfortable or not read the blog, then that speaks volumes about them. The truth sets you free. And you are dead-on about all the positivity blogs. Geez!

    • Please don’t delete your blog! It is very empowering to put your truth out there in the world and I’m sure you inspired many people by your written word. If you lost some followers, so what? You will gain even more through your honesty. Blog on, my friend! Plus I would miss you because I follow your blog…just sayin’

  6. You know..it’s your blog. You can say and share whatever you want, and if they don’t like what they read, they don’t have to be mean about it. It’s up to you how much you want to share and how comfortable you are with sharing. Writing and posting it out there is very cathartic…and you being honest are helping people out there who look into you and your life to find solace and make them feel that they are not alone. So write on, I’d say! 🙂

  7. Without knowing the context, it’s hard to say what motivated her to write that stuff. I think there are people who blog for a lot of the wrong reasons and over-sharing can sure have its downsides. I wonder, though, if she read your beautifully written heart-felt story that she would include you in with those people she was talking about. As for me, you know what I think and I for one will encourage you to stay the course. In your short time here I’ve already seen you have touched so many for the better, SlipperyAl. Love Red

  8. Congratulations! You are nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!
    There are rules to follow to accept this award:
    Show the award on your blog.
    Thank the person who nominated you.
    Share seven facts about yourself.
    Nominate 15 blogs.
    Link your nominees’ blogs, and let them know.

Leave a Reply

